Maths with an iPad on an Argentinian bus

So here I am, Looking at my marks for maths this semester and trying to figure out how much I need to pass the subject in a best case scenario and it’s not looking good! I need 70% in the final unless I improve in my last quiz and in a best case it will still mean around 64%.  But when I think it can’t get any worse I look at my best mark all year and see how massive the task at hand really is! highest mark all year… (drum roll please) 31.25% yup, i need to go more than twice as good as I have gone all year and not just over 3 weeks work, but over 12 weeks worth of knowledge. hmmm…

So today the first day that I have actually been able to study as my brother and sister in-law came over for the weekend I organised all of the maths taskbooks instead of working. And as I lie in bed writing before going to sleep after having only completed less than one days of work I wonder why that is.  Why was I only able to motivate myself  to do so little work?  It could be the whole mentality of it is too hard so why bother trying?  Or there is no chance of passing from the very first Thursday lecture seeing that we would again not be learning with Ian Benn.  But I honestly think that it is all down to me, because I can motivate myself to do work, I have done it in the past, I do it when it comes to things of interest to me, such as planning my trip or reading about some new technology.  Yet I can’t sit and do maths which will be of massive benefit to me, and will save me other $700 in the long run.

On a tangent now, I am one of those “Bloody full licence drivers” now. Yes I can teach people to drive, can keep up with the traffic on the freeway, and not get that judgemental look from an old person for overtaking them on the freeway when they are going 70km/h. Yay!

Oh was having a look today at how much it will cost to get from Argentina to Chile or Peru at the end of the year and annoyingly enough there is not much I can find on the net and what I have found is stupidly expensive even for buses! For example I am talking $500-600, even though a bus from Santiago to Lima can be as cheap as $70 so I am not sure if it is just the sights I am finding or if that is really the case.  I hope that when I ask my cousin to have a look he will find something a bit cheaper.

And finally my one paragraph review of the iPad.  As many of you will know I am not the biggest fan of Apple.  But I have been looking at the tablet market with great interest as it would be very practical for me to have one as I find I use my laptop as a bigger clumsy tablet.  So when Tim and I went to westfield and had a play around with the iPad I had a look at it a bit closer then most users.  First off, the screen is great, it has great colours and contrast.  The touchscreen is amazing, it picks up the softest of touches and the rotation is so quick that you never have to shake it a little so that it will FINALLY switch.  The Photos app thingy is really nice, very easy to use and navigate.  iTunes was great! why don’t we have the way to see the songs inside a album on the PC version? With the iPad one you hold over the album and then a little menu appears with all the songs that are on that album/artist which is so easy and saves a lot of time having to go back and forth when looking for songs etc.  The onscreen keyboard was nice, Tim and I found that it had approx 10 finger multitouch so it is possible to type fast, not as fast as on a real keyboard but fast nonetheless.  The main complaint with it was that because of the touchscreen you have to hold your hands above the keyboard as all times and because you don’t have anywhere to rest your wrist it makes your forearms very tired after only a hundered or so words. So maybe you could make a blog and do all your facebook and stuff but in general it really is for limited imput use.

Talk soon, I doubt I will be making another post during the exam period which finishes on the 25th so if I don’t post by then leave lots of comments and give me suggestions for what to post next.

5 Comments

Filed under Thoughts, Travel

5 responses to “Maths with an iPad on an Argentinian bus

  1. Stephen

    Ah, procrastination… It’s quite inexplicable. I don’t understand what motivates people to do it. And I am one of the very best among procrastinators; I emailed your brother so many times during the HSC period that between us we racked up double the word count of his honours thesis in three weeks. There is just something about being compelled to do work that makes us want to do anything but. Perhaps if they were to make the final exams optional, we would be more likely to study for them and do them… or perhaps not. I don’t know. But I do recall my HSC days and I know that whenever I was told to do something that I would otherwise have enjoyed for credit, I suddenly did not want to do it.

    Congratulations on achieving the hallowed rank of full licencee. I’ve still a year and a half to wait; I will be getting my full licence a week before I get married. So, of course, I am looking forward to January 2012 because I will be legally entitled to drive my car at 110 kph. Hooray! I’ll have a week of unparalleled freedom.

    I’m actually moderately surprised with your review of the iPad. Most people who are not avid Apple fanboys are quite scornful of it. Have you simply omitted all of its bad point for fear of reiterating everybody else’s points, or did you really find little wrong with it? I’m just curious. I am not (any longer) an avid Apple product hater, but I still am an avid Apple (the company) hater. I concede that they’re pretty flipping good at design, and they do have some really nicely thought-out machines on the market, and with a price point that is much more competitive than it used to be.

    G’luck in your exams; it sounds like you’ll need it.

    • Oh believe me, with the iPad review it was being pretty honest. But because i was only using it in a store without internet connection i didn’t have the pleasure if discovering the lack of flash support by having a blank square. Or most importantly wanting to view a video only to discover that in order to watch my video i will have to connect it to the computer open itunes, sync the video into itunes transfer it onto the iPad and after 15 min of all this discover that it wont play because it is 1:the wrong format, 2: cannot get the correct codec for it to work. It seems like a very nice bit of kit in its own environment (apple store) but once it leaves the comfort of its home i think the many limitations of it would become frustrating.
      Oh and i like “I’ll have a week of unparalleled freedom.” implying that after that week when you are married you will no longer have “unparalleled freedom” =P

      • See these are the bugs and weird stuff that they just don’t tell you in store and that annoys you when you take it home. But I guess they wouldn’t sell anything if they told the truth!

        • Hey, can i just ask how you found this blog? you are the first person that has commented that is a random (not someone i know in the real world) therefore the only person as far as i know that has seen my blog that didn’t get a link from me or facebook

  2. get a turboooo charged car. you will nearly be as cool as me if you do. everyone wants to be as cool as mad dude himslef. forced induction rulz!

Leave a Reply

